Snowplow video

I woke up this morning in the guest room of my dad’s house to the sound of the snow plow.  It snowed about four inches overnight and the snowplow arrived about 6:45 a.m.  The window of the first floor guest room faces the driveway and has a small-leaf rhododendron outside.  As the plow moved back and forth, the headlights created a leafy shadow movie on the closed window blinds.  I watched the dance, fascinated and wishing I could record it but knowing that it would take too long to set up the camera.  So once again, I will have to keep the memory in my head as long as possible.

4 thoughts on “Snowplow video

  1. One of the most frustrating things any artist faces is the fleeting nature of their artistic vision. The knowledge that by the time you set up the – tripod, easel, camera, digital recorder, welding torch? – the thing you wish to record will be long gone is a constant hurdle which can never be totally eliminated. The best we can hope for, I think, is to just to delight in those magical times when the vision we see coincides with a camera or paintbrush or guitar ready to hand. … Either that or go to bed with your camera under your pillow! 🙂

  2. Echoing vincible1, and adding that creative expression is a discipline. Whether always having a camera handy and being prepared to do nothing else except focus intently on the subject as it moves and changes, or maintaining the discipline to spend long hours pulling the vision out of the raw material, it can be a lot of work.
    That said, one can always let go, smile, and consider a moment all the more special because it wasn’t recorded!

  3. I really like the idea of letting go, smiling and considering the moment special! I have always thought that even if I can’t record the moment with a camera/paint brush/welder immediately, it is imprinted in my brain and will somehow find it’s way into my art through a line, shape, feeling, color…in other words, the moment is not lost forever but will transform itself into something new.

    P.S. Cameras are a little lumpy to have under the pillow. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

