What is it?

I have to say mea culpa.  It seems that the cobweb shown in the last post is not really a cobweb.  My sister was pretty amazed at how strong the “web” was so I went back to look at it.  Turns out it’s some kind of chrysalis.  I’m not sure what it is, and I’m not the type of person to dissect a potentially viable moth or butterfly so if anyone has an idea of what this is, I’d love to know.  The silk thread that it’s hanging off of is incredibly strong (it would have to be to withstand the winds we’ve been getting this winter).  And all the chrysalises (chrysali?) are dead center on the thread. Oh, and I live in Maryland, so it’s a Mid Atlantic creature.

Anybody got any ideas???

2 thoughts on “What is it?

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

