National Cathedral

Yesterday I went to the National Cathedral in DC for a “Photo Safari” with an architectural photographer.  It was a class through the Capital Photography Center.  I was pretty excited and nervous beforehand, because I’m such a beginner (despite taking photos for several decades) and I was worried that my lack of knowledge would be, well, embarrassing.

Fortunately, the instructor, E. David Luria, was a gentle teacher and helped me figure out how to use my camera (a Panasonic Lumix) to achieve several different effects with the stained glass and other intriguing challenges of taking photos in a large cathedral.  Unfortunately (partly due to time constraints and partly due to a really lousy tripod) I was unable to take many really good pictures.

The lessons I learned were invaluable.  I know it seems basic to most people but I have now learned how to use the shutter speed to achieve the color saturation that I want.  (Duh.)  I have begun to realize that photography, like all art, is a series of mechanical choices.  The art comes from the decisions you make; where to point the camera, focusing, shutter speed and all the other tricks of the trade.

This morning I spent some time playing with the shutter speed.  That was my moment of art today. The rest of the day’s art will have to consist of the mundane, vacuuming up golden retriever dust bunnies (or are they tumbleweeds?), cleaning, shopping and figuring out what’s for dinner.

2 thoughts on “National Cathedral

  1. I have a Panasonic Lumix too. I love it but I don’t really use it to the best of its ability because I haven’t figured out how! The oranges (?) on the blue dish are very artistic and lovely. I’ll have those for dinner 🙂

    1. I’m still getting to know all the buttons and I seem to find new ones every time I turn it on. I seem to find new areas of the camera by mistake and then can’t remember how I found them. It’s all wonderfully complex! And the oranges do look good don’t they? They’re clementines.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

