A funny thing happened on the way to the…

This posting rated R for taking the Lord’s name in vain…if this will bother you, don’t read it.  Otherwise, enjoy the story!

When I was growing up, my family was just a little crazy and very dysfunctional. (I dare you to show me a family who isn’t.)  I have done lots of work throughout my life to find ways to overcome the weirdness. The good news is that humor was used as a release and a therapy, we enjoyed making each other laugh. In fact, there are very few people who can cause me to laugh until I cry…and I am related to most of them.  This story is for my family who perfected the art of laughter.

It should be said that I am a telephone-a-holic.  I have always loved talking on the phone.  And when the opportunity came about to buy a new car, in this day and age of modern technology I chose the one with built in blue-tooth capabilities.  I really try not to use it very much but occasionally…well…

A few weeks ago I was driving in my car and needed to tell my husband something.  Being the instant gratification junky that I am, I pressed the button on my steering wheel and the female voice said “Command please”.

"command please"
“command please”

I replied “Call name”.

“Please enter the name”, said the voice.

"please enter the name"
“please enter the name”

At this point some complete idiot ahead of me swerved in front of another car nearly causing complete and utter mayhem on the road.  Without thinking, out of my mouth came the words…”Jesus Christ”.

After realizing that everything was really okay on the road and feeling my heart settling back into my chest, I heard the voice in my car say “Sorry, please enter the name”.

Needless to say, I was laughing so hard I had to press the cancel button and start again later.

 

Moral:  No matter how good technology gets, it still won’t be able to contact the son of God.

3 thoughts on “A funny thing happened on the way to the…

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

