Take a walk with me

the rain
the blooms
the green grass
the sounds of my neighbors’ mowers starting up for the first time one by one.

If you’re not tired of seeing spring pictures (blooming flowers and such) take a walk with me through my garden.

First, we must say goodbye to the blooms of the witch hazel.  It was really beautiful this year, lots of orange/rust/red blooms that lasted for a month.  It is right outside my door, so I get to see it as I go about my day.

The end of the witch-hazel
The end of the witch-hazel

Behind the witch-hazel is a weeping redbud.  I did not intend to have the weeping kind, but my ignorance led me right to it and now it is safely ensconced in my garden.  It is just starting its blooming cycle, but it looks awesome against the yellow of the forsythia.

early redbud
early redbud
red/blue/yellow
red/blue/yellow

Walking to the front of my house, there’s a beautiful Yoshino cherry that always takes my breath away every year.  I am guessing it was planted several decades ago and is enormous.  I stood under it and was grateful when my neighbor turned off his lawnmower, for I could hear the drone of the bees in the tree.  It might be my imagination but I have never seen such large bumblebees!  If you look carefully at the second picture, you can see the bees flying around the tree.

 yoshino cherry tree
yoshino cherry tree
up to the sky
up to the sky

Right next to the Yoshino is a Kwanza cherry tree, another oldie but goodie.  I am blessed to have the treasure of someone else’s plantings.  I keep that in mind when I am planting, I may not see the full beauty of the garden, but someone will some day.  And I hope they thank me for it just like I am thanking the unknown person who planted these trees.

kwanzan cherry tree
kwanzan cherry tree

And finally, my ambivalence shows with this final picture.  The same someone who planted a line of pine and maple trees to block the view of the neighbors also decided that forsythia would be a great hedge.  There must have been a deal on forsythia at the garden center.  It is EVERYWHERE and all in a line.  This is the only time of year that I like forsythia.  Otherwise, I find it messy, out of control and generally ugly.  But here is a picture of why I like it.

yellow
yellow

5 thoughts on “Take a walk with me

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

