The art of the mess

The other day a photographer from Australia posted on her blog about an artist I had never heard of…Margaret Olley.  I enjoyed looking through the pictures of her paintings, and I invite you to take a stroll through the gallery on Leanne’s post:

http://leannecolephotography.com/2013/04/15/influencing-me-margaret-olley/

The reason I bring this up is that I was struck by the picture of Ms. Olley’s living room.  It is quite dramatically cluttered (no, she was not a hoarder, but she was on the brink).  My first impulse was to say…”Hey, now I don’t feel so bad, my place isn’t anywhere near as cluttered as that”.  But the more I thought about it, the more I started wondering how it is that my clutter never looks as artistic as Margaret Olley’s.  It’s obvious that she lived amongst her art, from the colors in her living room, to the objects strewn about that made their way into her paintings.  My fantasy is that she didn’t care whether anyone judged her for her messy room, it just pleased her to have everything at hand that she might need for her creative expression.

So I went around my studio today, taking pictures of my mess.  Yes, as I have mentioned in a previous post, I am messy.  Especially when I am creating.  I feel like the clutter is somewhat organic and ebbs and flows on a daily basis.  Some days I think it’s alive and starts moving across the room on its own.  Sometimes I find the space I can work with diminishes rapidly.  I suppose that I should work harder on not caring how it looks, but I know that it is sometimes easier to create when everything (including me) is in its right place.  It’s also nice to be able to walk across the floor without stepping on something or leaping over a pile of books.

But for now I thought I would humble myself and show some pictures of an artist at work.  The art comes form the cropping of the picture…and, yes, from the cat.  Cats bring a slice of art to everything they do.  Even sleeping on a shelf full of fabric.

I show you these with my head held high (uh huh) and hope you enjoy a peek at my life…

 

 

12 thoughts on “The art of the mess

  1. I love Margaret Olley’s paintings. Good to see them again all in one post. I applaud your humbleMess. I have to work hard at leaving mess alone. As I type I am looking at kitchen mess, gritting my teeth and telling myself ‘ignore, ignore, not important’. How long will my resolve last?

    1. I find that there is a moment where it just HAS to be cleaned. Usually that happens when I am trying to avoid something else that I don’t want to do.

  2. Eclectic scenery is how i would describe your “mess” ,my daughter is an artist and i have enjoyed many an eclectic view of her studio(my sewing room,hubbies barn,her bedroom)…you get the picture 🙂 the Interview with Margaret Ollie was wonderful,and her rooms were very much on the Chaos theory side..one piece of vase etc became a muse.Your work is beautiful and the end justifies the means.:)…thank you for commenting on my Al the Echidna story..he is a sweetie and i look forward to following your blog also 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

