Up Date.

I have been busy since the last post. Mostly I have been shopping.  I feel very much like Paris Hilton, except I have been going to the local mall and not to the streets of Beverly Hills or Milan.  It’s funny how a wedding in Barcelona has sent me into major mega search mode, trying to find the perfect outfit.  Despite liking to shop (as I stated last time) I am really not known for wearing great fashions on a daily basis.  I have even been known to go to the market in workout clothes.  (Remember, this is Carroll County, I still look fine.)

It’s also a bit embarrassing to be talking about fashion when it’s been such a difficult week in our house.  My 91 year-old mother-in-law suffered a stroke on the same day her brother was in the OR having heart surgery.  Talking about clothes seems rather frivolous compared to the stuff life and death are made of.  However, shopping for me can be a really wonderful distraction.  There is no doubt that the term “retail therapy” is a real thing in my life.  (In case you were wondering, both my mother-in-law and her brother have survived and are recuperating nicely.  In fact my mother-in-law’s doctors are in shock at how well she is doing.)

patterns, colors and textures
patterns, colors and textures of clothes and shoes

So, I shopped.  And shopped.  I found some dresses to wear while I wander around the streets of Barcelona, I found some dresses to wear when I am chilling in my back yard.  AND I found a great sleeveless dress: white, not too formal but classy.  Perfect for the wedding.  Oh God, now I need shoes.

So I shopped for shoes.  (I love DSW, it makes shoe shopping a much easier experience instead of traipsing through the mall and stopping at EVERY shoe store along the way.)  It didn’t take me long to find the perfect pair of shoes for the dress, lovely floral pumps that are not too formal but classy.  Oh God, now the scarf I had picked out won’t work.

So I shopped for a scarf.  Back to the mall, went through most of the stores, but couldn’t find anything that I liked.  Actually, that’s not true, I found one great scarf but it cost more than the dress did…I draw the line at spending that much money for an accessory.  I even spent an hour online looking at hundreds of scarves…yeesh.  On a whim, I stopped at (ugh) Wal-Mart (double ugh) and lo and behold, there was the perfect scarf.  Phew!

I can stop shopping now.  Oh God…I think I need a necklace…

 

Sigh.

4 thoughts on “Up Date.

    1. You know, I usually don’t do that much buying when I’m on vacation. I love going into stores, but I am more likely to attack a bookstore, art gallery or craft gallery than I am to go clothes shopping. Weird, I know. But I do still have to buy a nice necklace…you never know. And thanks for the compliment on the shoes. I’m getting lots of good feedback on them.

  1. Oh I avoid clothes shopping haahahaha I get beside myself..i am the speed shopper..but get me into a food market or farmers market and I am off..it’s great therapy and glad the family is on the mend 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

