Gaudi Part 1

I just returned from 10 days in Barcelona.  It was a wonderful trip, full of art, food, wine and a real Catalan wedding.  There were many high points (both figuratively and literally) and a LOT of Gaudi. I thought I’d start off this group of posts with a picture of a quote from a didactic display at the Sagrada Familia by Gaudi.  If you don’t know this amazing work-in-progress, it is Gaudi’s piece de resistance…a cathedral that is still being built, many years after his death.  His inspiration comes from nature, as is seen in many of the organic lines and sculptures of reptiles, amphibians etc.

This quote, which talks about one of his favorite ways of incorporating an organic wavy line into his roofs, speaks to me because I am continually struggling against the inner voice that says…”You can’t do that, nobody has done it before, nobody will know what to make of it.”

Gaudi struggled with it too.  I feel better.  Of course one has to have a bit of an ego in order to shrug off the feeling of insecurity.  I think Gaudi had that in spades.

Gaudi quote
Gaudi quote

Stay tuned for more Barcelona posts…

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

