Colors in Barcelona

When you are in a city for 10 days, you start craving color. Most of the buildings are made from concrete or stone, with some brick thrown in occasionally.  Gray is the predominant color spectrum and although the city is full of clothes stores, parks and “Ramblas”, it is still a city.

So I picked six photos that showed some of the color that I found while I was there:

BLUE:

Blue

This was the view out our living room window.  The mediterranean sky is such an amazing blue and I think it sets of the rust and yellow building quite well.

GREEN:

Green

Gaudi loved mosaics and he loved ceilings…to him it made sense to put the two together.  This picture was taken looking straight up at the ceiling in the market place at the unfinished Park Guell.

PRIMARY COLORS:

Primary Colors

Tagging is truly an art form and there is plenty of it in Barcelona.  Some think it is ugly and a scourge, I am not so sure, especially when the alternative is to look at bare concrete.

NEON:

Neon

Another example of graffiti, perhaps because of tagging, spray paint manufacturers are coming out with more and more vibrant colors.

WARM and COOL:

Warm and cool

A knitting store with some serious spotlights makes for a treasure trove of colors.  I wanted to buy them all and I don’t even knit!

PASTELS:

glowing

The inverted stained glass dome at the Palau de Musica is an amazing piece of art, and the light stays on while the concert is happening…every so often I would just look up and smile.  “Toto, we’re not in Kansas any more.”

YELLOW LIGHT:

Yellow light

This is one of the many stained glass windows in La Sagrada Familia.  It casts such a lovely warm light and made me feel so welcome in the vastness of the church.

8 thoughts on “Colors in Barcelona

  1. I love how you highlighted different colors – The tagging is quite interesting – I always think it depends on how it’s executed, where it is, etc.

    1. Thank you! I agree that there is good tagging and not so good tagging, but I love to see really amazing graffiti. I find it unbelievable what some of the artists can do with a can of spray paint.

  2. I love your colour selections. You remind me of my years in Egypt where I consciously sought out the colours as an antidote to the desert colours. It was there that I fell in love with the Blue of the Mediterranean sky and the blue of the Red Sea! The warm light in La Sagrada Familia is beautiful.

  3. What beautiful groupings of colors around which to base paintings. When Is ee colors that co-exist so well together, I want to use that palette and create from it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

