Butterflies!!!

This has been a wonderful year for seeing butterflies in my garden.  They are loving up the Echinacea (Purple Cone Flower) and I have been enjoying standing amongst the flowers and taking their pictures.   Occasionally I use the manual focus, but they are so fast that it is difficult to take the time to make sure that everything is clear…so the automatic button gets used a lot. My camera can focus way faster than I can and most of the time it picks the right thing to focus on.  In fact, it’s almost obscene as to how good the picture can be, I almost feel like I am really a small part of the photographic equation.

There were two types of butterflies this morning. The first was a very friendly and lovely Eastern Tiger Swallowtail.  There was a plethora of them hanging around and they didn’t seem to mind me and my ugly metal thing that made clicking sounds very close to them while they were eating.

The second type was the Monarch which is one of my personal favorites.  I have a lovely memory of them hanging out in a small garden outside the laundry room of the house when I was growing up.  I am currently reading Barbara Kingsolver’s book Flight Behavior which is quite informative about them along with being a good story (not surprising coming from her) and so to find one in my garden this morning was a special treat.  Funnily enough, it was much more shy than the Yellowtails.  I wished I had my longer lens so I didn’t have to get so close…it kept flying away just when I was ready to get a picture.  I wondered if the Yellowtails had safety in numbers since the Monarch was by itself.  Who knows?

I have seen a third butterfly lurking about recently, the Black Swallowtail, but it wasn’t in evidence this morning.  Perhaps I will get a good picture of it in the next couple of days.  I will also work on getting some of the smaller critters, the moths and bees and wasps.  There’s a gorgeous indigo blue wasp on the bronze fennel that I’m hoping I can capture on film, it will have to be in sunlight as that is when the blue shows up, otherwise it looks totally black.  Wish me luck!

And for those of you who read my last post, the studio tour was not very successful, no landscape architects came out to see my sculptures and gardens…alas. It was a good idea but evidently I need to tweak it a bit.

7 thoughts on “Butterflies!!!

  1. Such gorgeous photos. I have a lot of Monarch butterflies in my garden too – such a treat! I also have some that resemble them but are almost completely black. I’m not sure if they are another kind of Monarch or a different kind of butterfly. Very beautiful though.

  2. I must live in the wrong place but I don’t see butterflies in my yard. Maybe that’s it… I have a yard and not a garden. How come I never spied you taking pictures when we were neighbors. I suspect that is why you moved… so you can have butterflies. Now, please ask them to come my way when you engage them again in a photo shoot. I guess I have to plant flowers huh!
    the photos were so beautiful I am convinced I am missing out

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

