around the house

This morning I decided to take pictures of things I found around the outside of my house…whatever caught my eye.  I have a tendency to get stuck on the traditionally pretty pictures, flowers, butterflies etc.  This time I focused on the little things, the objects that I don’t always notice or pay attention to.  Some of them are admittedly a bit odd, but beautiful in their own right. So come with me as I walk around my house!

First, as I went down the steps to the patio I saw this bee carcass which looked fascinating.  It’s almost like someone incinerated the innards but left the shell.  It reminds me of amber.  Yes, the carcass is wrapped with dog fur…

Death
Death

Did I mention we have a dog or two?

I'm soooo tired.
I’m soooo tired.

The next thing I came upon was a weed I had pulled from between the cracks of the patio.  Lying there it is so beautiful, it is hard to believe that when it was upright in the ground I wanted nothing to do with it.

Pulled from the patio
Pulled from the patio

On to more dog fur…I mean a beautiful flower!  Love the color.

complete with dog fur
complete with dog fur

Did I mention we have a dog???

Lying down again
Lying down again

Here’s another dead beetle that I have been seeing for the past couple of days…obviously something has mostly destroyed it now and it is almost ready to become nutrients for the garden.  The colors are so amazing though.

More death
More death

A bird’s nest fell out of the tree the other day.

fallen nest
fallen nest

It rained this morning.  (This is a good thing, I don’t have to water the gardens today.)  The water droplets remind me of nasturtiums, they have that star in the center.

droplets
droplets

It’s been a while since I cleaned off the top of my glass-topped table out under the trees.  This leaf has been decomposing for quite some time…kinda mushy but interesting in a gross way.  (I know, I’m weird.)

mush
mush

The shade garden is never mulched in the spring, I let the trees provide the cover it needs.  I love the details, the colors…it’s so rich.

shade garden floor
shade garden floor

And finally, the drain pipe from our downspout diverts the water away from the house.  The silly dog likes to sleep there and sometimes digs a “bed” to lay down in so the pipe has been exposed a bit.  I think it’s a cool abstract picture.  There’s so much going on, I could spend a lot of time looking at it all.

drain pipe
drain pipe

Ginger says “Thanks for going on a walk around the house with me!  Now can I take a nap?”

Buh bye!
Buh bye!

7 thoughts on “around the house

  1. I love the not-traditionally-pretty photos, too. I especially loved that you noticed the stars in the droplets of water and compared them to nasturtiums. I wouldn’t have caught that.

    1. thanks! I didn’t notice the stars until I took the picture, but that is one of the joys of photography, it makes you see things you wouldn’t normally have seen.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

