Around the house, Part deux

I must do a follow up post to Around the House.  There are so many wonderful pictures happening around here that it is a shame not to share them.

First, an update on the weed that I pulled out of the patio.  It has not moved.  But it dried out and is still really interesting despite having very little color.  I placed a sprig of rosemary next to it to show the size of the weed.  It was not that big, but because I have zoomed it, it looks much bigger.

dead or alive
dead or alive

Next, my friend Gallivanta took me to task for not showing whether there was dog fur in the making of the nest.  The answer is…of course!  It is difficult to see but there are traces of it way down at the bottom.  What is easier to see is the pieces of netting that my neighbors cut off their hay bales.  There is also a piece of string, some mud and lots of twigs.

pieces parts of the nest
pieces parts of the nest

Yes, today is the day Max showed up in my jaunt around the house.  He had just come outside after a lovely afternoon nap.  The reason for his focused attention will become apparent…

disdain
disdain

…the butterfly bush is doing its job.  I know, I know…butterfly bushes are invasive. But I don’t think they’re as bad as Honeysuckle, Japanese stilt grass or Multiflora Rose.  So I keep one in the yard and Max loves to find the butterflies.  I do too.  I know I’ve been posting lots of butterfly pictures, but this really seems to be a special year for them.  So here’s two that I particularly like.

Butterfly bush
Butterfly bush
sun on the wing
sun on the wing

And finally, the clouds were quite lovely this afternoon.  I feel like pictures of clouds are not always successful, there seems to be something missing when I try to take them.  But I think you can see in this picture why they reminded me of corduroy.  There were some vultures circling around that made the picture even cooler.

corduroy clouds
corduroy clouds

3 thoughts on “Around the house, Part deux

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

