NY Botanical Garden

I’m back from Connecticut.  My dad’s house is totally empty and ready to go to the new owner.  It was a tough week, I kept finding memories swirling around in the dust and dirt of 30 years of accumulated inertia.

While the estate sale was happening, I took off to NYC and spent the weekend doing what I wanted to do, eating what I wanted to eat and generally having a marvelous time.  The fact that it was my birthday gave the whole weekend a celebratory flair, so much so that I did things I might not have done otherwise.

I understand that it is unusual for most people to understand how someone can enjoy going to New York City by themselves and enjoy it.  My father kept saying “Couldn’t you find someone to share it with?”  The answer is yes, but I didn’t want to.  For some reason, freedom is going out the door of whatever building I am in and choosing what direction to go in without having to run it by other people.

As a result, everything that I did came from my interest in gardening, modern art, walking, eating, drinking, books, and theater.  This post is about the first interest…gardening.

The first thing I did on my trip was to stop at the NY Botanical Gardens in the Bronx on my way into the city. This was more difficult than I had anticipated, starting with an absolute downpour in the morning that made me and everything I was carrying kinda soggy.  I also had to change trains twice before I got to the gardens.  Despite this, the weather cleared enough (although it stayed quite humid) to enjoy strolling around the grounds and the buildings.

After lunch I pulled out my camera and started to take pictures.  At first I didn’t really look at the pix I took but after a couple of minutes I realized that they were coming out very misty.  Hmmmm.  Turns out that the inside of the lens was fogging up due to being damp in the knapsack and being out in the humidity.  Funny thing is that I actually liked some of the foggy pictures.

foggy dahlia
foggy dahlia

After I cleaned off the lens I was able to get a couple of gorgeous shots of flowers…including one of an oak leaf hydrangea and some gorgeous yellow/orange flower that I (embarrassingly) don’t know the name of.  (If you know what it is, let me know!!!)

oak leaf hydrangea flower
oak leaf hydrangea flower
Yellow
Yellow

During a short rain storm, I went into the wonderful Conservatory where there was an exhibit of healing plants from around the world.  They also have a palm Courtyard that is a permanent display of different palms from around the world.  I had fun finding interesting patterns and textures.  Don’t be surprised if you see some of these ideas in my next sculptures.

reflection
reflection
P1050310
back lit
concentric half circles
concentric half circles
Jumble
Jumble
Strings of the palm trunk
Strings of the palm trunk

And finally, I wandered back outside and found some very cool scuptures of the four seasons. I’ll share Winter with you, I liked him the best.  Check out the artist info, I found it intriguing.

Winter
Winter
Detail
Detail
Artist info
Artist info

So that is a glimpse of the three hours I spent at the Botannical Gardens.  I got my plant/flower fix and was quite happy when I got on the fourth train of the day for the short ride to Grand Central Station.  More in the next post…stay tuned!!!

One thought on “NY Botanical Garden

  1. It’s so wonderful when you can do exactly, and only, what you want to do. A great way to spend a birthday. (Best Wishes :)) The foggy/misty dahlia is lovely. And I am fascinated by the winter sculpture and the connection with Arcimboldo’s work, the Doctrine of signatures etc. I went to the NY Botanical gardens dozens of years ago. I don’t remember much about the gardens but I do remember that getting there by train was not a simple business, as you discovered too.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

