mastery: Kouichi Chiba

My sister sent me this link in an e-mail today.  I was instantly charmed by each and every one of the photos and decided that I wanted to share it on my blog.  I don’t share other people’s work very often (I guess I’m kinda selfish that way).  But after the last post (which seemed to strike a chord in several of my readers) I have been unable to catch a passing idea and put it down on paper…well, you know what I mean.  Instead, I am choosing to share Kouichi Chiba’s photography with you.

Glimmer of hope by Kouichi Chiba on 500px.com
Glimmer of hope by Kouichi Chiba
Relaxation by Kouichi Chiba on 500px.com
Relaxation by Kouichi Chiba
Now's the time. by Kouichi Chiba on 500px.com
Now’s the time. by Kouichi Chiba

These are just three of the many images that this artist has created and I hope you take the time to go to the link of her work.  I had a difficult time picking only three!  Another place to see them is here.  It is arranged a little differently and in some ways you can see them more easily.

I particularly like how he has combined a mastery of photography with a mastery of simple line drawings to make something that is simple and yet soooo exquisite.  It took a while for me to realize exactly what was going on, I was so intrigued by the stories of each piece.  But now I realize that he is creating a story with paper, pen and using photography to create the backdrop.  Whether he takes the pictures in situ or whether he prints out the back drops and places the paper in front of them, I can’t quite figure out.  Another sign of mastery is making it look simple and yet leaving people to wonder how the hell you actually achieve that effect.

I am also fascinated by his work because I have been reading lots of kids books lately.  I grew up reading story books, ones with fabulous artwork and intriguing or quirky story lines.  Mom had almost the whole set of The Wizard of Oz along with a collection of amazingly illustrated stories.  These photos remind me of telling stories with pictures, but you almost don’t need any words to know what is going on.

I wish I could find out more about him, but since I don’t read Japanese, well, I guess I will have to enjoy the photos and the artist will remain a mystery.  Oh, wait, my niece reads Japanese!  If I find out anything I will let you know in a future post.

5 thoughts on “mastery: Kouichi Chiba

  1. They are gorgeous. Would love to hear more about her if you find something. I am having fun with children’s books at the moment too. In fact, there are days when I would much rather read them than my proper so called grown-up books!

    1. I agree, and the nice thing is that they often are printed with LARGE print! makes it easier on the eyes. 🙂
      I am finding that not all children’s books are worth reading. If you have some titles that you particularly like, please share them!

      1. LARGE print and well spaced print are so helpful. I haven’t got these books at home, so haven’t read them in a while but I remember long ago enjoying the stories of the Small Family by Lois Lenski. If I had time, I would like to read more of her work.

        1. The name of the author sounded familiar and shure enough, I had “The Little Family” when I was growing up…I loved it. I never saw the Small Family ones though. Thanks!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

