yeesh

I am stunned by the insanity that is now taking place an hour away from me. I personally know five people who are not “essential”. One person can’t access her money on line because she banks at a federal credit union. I had an idea to go to the Renwick today to listen to a lecture on baskets and meet a bunch of baskets makers. Not happening. And in the meantime, I feel helpless. There is nothing I can do but sit and wait and hope that somebody, anybody, sees reason and runs this country in a civilized manner. It makes me angry, sad and everything in between to think that there are grown men and women who are making a game out of this whole situation, and all they are concerned with is ending up on top. Very discouraging.

Okay, enough of my rant, I just had to vent a little bit.

In the meantime, I am busy in the studio. My reality these days is about work, creating, bending steel, painting basket frames, reading children’s books (and looking at the illustrations) and seeing what is out there in the world that resembles what I hope to accomplish (not much).

Today, I finished bending one side of the second section of the ribbon piece. I am feeling awesomely powerful (bending steel can do that, just don’t ask how my muscles feel) and ready to start the second side. I also got the basket spines back and have started to spray paint them in the colors that I want.

As I was walking out of my studio, I was struck by the shadows cast by the big round basket. I couldn’t resist getting my camera and trying to take pictures of it.  Surprisingly, they didn’t come out as well as I thought they would, but I think a couple of them worked. The basket is lying off of its base on a ramp, perhaps the skewed quality of the picture is making it a bit funny, I don’t know. I just know that I love the lines of these pictures.

shadow basket
shadow basket
shadow basket outline
shadow basket outline
shadow basket...which is which?
shadow basket…which is which?

5 thoughts on “yeesh

  1. Looks great! … The piece and the photos. Very impressed by the even bending.
    Think how the artist’s must feel who are in the show at the Renwick! I’d be bummed.

    1. Thanks! Wait until you see the ribbon piece bending! And yes, I would be totally bummed if I were those artists. I can only imagine the excitement of having a show at the Renwick only to find out that it will be closed. Have a good time in NYC!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

