Flora, fauna and a cat

Yup, it’s another Key West post. I am writing this as I look out the window at a gray sky presiding over the greens, reds, yellows and browns of fall. It is a pleasure to be able to revisit the moments of bright purples, greens and turquoises that are inherent in tropical vegetation.

First in our quest for color is the fan palm. It is one of my favorite shapes and I love the color when it is backlit by the sun.

I have always love these palms
I have always loved these palms
green!
green!

Next is the orchid. Our bed and breakfast had these attached to the trunks of some of the palm trees and they were absolutely gorgeous.

fabulous orchid
fabulous orchid
such saturated colors
such saturated colors

A small plant was tucked away on some rocks that used to be a fountain by the side of the pool.  The water no longer flows, but the flowers are still very pretty. Such a delicate pink. Pink is not usually my favorite color, but I really like this one.

By the pool
By the pool

As I was waiting for the sun to set on the last night, I walked along the beach and found a whole bunch of Gazanias just hanging out. They are not native to Florida but they seem to have naturalized really well. I loved the little spots of color amongst the gray rocks.

orange and yellow
orange and yellow

And finally, my favorite tree, the Banyan tree. If you have never encountered one of these beauties, you will not know what it is like to stand under a tree that reaches its roots down from its branches in tendrils that are reminiscent of nerves spreading through the body. Eventually they find their way to the ground and bury themselves, giving the tree yet another place from which to get the water in the soil.

roots hanging from the branches
roots hanging from the branches
roots touching the ground
roots touching the ground

And I can’t resist adding a picture of one of the six-toed cats at Hemingway’s house. I ran around trying to pet as many of them as I could (they are mostly friendly). I love this particular picture.

six toes
six toes

4 thoughts on “Flora, fauna and a cat

  1. I have just finished planting, or dividing and replanting, gazanias. Love them. Also love orchids and banyan trees and I am sure I would love a six toed cat if I met one 🙂

    1. My sister has a six toed cat and she is the sweetest thing. Evidently there are over 40 of them at the Hemingway house. They have a huge budget to pay for cat food and vet visits. And it started with one cat that was given to Hemingway’s son.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

