crow

Story of a Trip

Chapter 3

Crow

Seattle has a very large and intelligent crow population. I am talking the bird, not the tribe. Crows, and their cousin the raven, have a special place in my heart going back to my New Age/Native American phase in the ’80’s. At that time I was taken with how animals all have a special meaning in life. These meanings were sometimes similar, sometimes different, depending on the tribe you were from. In one of my books, “If you look deeply into Crow’s eye, you will have found the gateway to the supernatural. Crow knows the unknowable mysteries of creation and is the keeper of all sacred law.” (Medicine Cards, Jamie Sams and David Carson, Bear & Co., Santa Fe, NM, 1988) Personally, I will always look at these birds with a combination of love, awe and distrust.

After breakfast, while R was sleeping off the huge breakfast we ate, I was out and about, walking along the waterfront park. Crows don’t like to stand still for very long but these guys let me take pictures.

hanging out at the park
hanging out at the park
on the driftwood
on the driftwood
at the edge of the water
at the edge of the water
on the pavement
on the pavement
in parking lot
in parking lot

I have a bird wall, full of paintings, prints and other bird artwork. It is what I look at when I need to ponder a thought while I am writing on my computer. I bought this particular painting in Nova Scotia a few years ago. I love the layers and colors. It speaks to me of how magical crows can be.

"Crow" by Taiya Barss
“Crow” by Taiya Barss, oil

I have never made a crow, but I have made a raven. It used to be on my about page, but I like to change things up a bit. Here it is again. (Photo by Eric Salsbery)

The Asphalt Raven
The Asphalt Raven

9 thoughts on “crow

    1. very cool. My sister lived on Queen Anne and every year she had conversations with the crows around her, who seemed to know how she was. It would be interesting to know if they continued their relationship with the new owners!

  1. I love the idea of your bird wall. I always get crows and ravens muddled but the internet says ravens are much bigger, longer-lived and less sociable (around people) than crows. I love your photos and your sculpture.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

