wood

Story of a Trip

Chapter 5: Wood

It seems I have a lot of pictures of wood so I thought this would be a per-

-Wait! You mean you went to Seattle, took pictures of the city and DIDN’T take a picture of the SPACE NEEDLE???

Everyone knows what the Space Needle looks like, it is a world icon.

-Uh huh. That means you didn’t take one.

Sigh. Of course I did. If I show it now, can I get back to my thoughts on wood?

-Yes.

Thank you.

from afar
from afar

As I was saying, I seem to have a lot of pictures of wood so I thought I would show some of them. It will also take us from Seattle proper to Whidbey Island. Wood is a very important resource in the Pacific Northwest. Logging is a huge business and you can see swathes of clear cuts everywhere. I personally think it is very sad, it really hits me in the solar plexus when I see such extreme devastation in the beauty of the forest. However, I also like wooden furniture, wooden floors and paper (both writing and toilet). I write with pencils, I heat my house with firewood. There is no getting around how much wood we use.

-Get off the soapbox and get back to the story.

Ooooookaaaaay…I found wood everywhere. Walking along the beach in Seattle I found wonderful wooden sculptures that had washed up on shore.

driftwood
driftwood
face?
face?

At Useless Bay on Whidbey, R decided to surf. The sound track was the theme from Hawaii 5-O.

R surfing on a piece of wood
R surfing on a piece of wood

My sister’s house is surrounded by wood, the trees grow tall and dark over it. And the whole house is made from wood, floors, ceilings, stairs, cabinets, bookshelves…and, of course, being a writer, she has tons of books.

wood and books
wood and books

She also has lots of tchotchkes around her house, usually of the natural variety. On her hall table is this branch that someone gave her. It looks like a piece of fuzz on it but in reality it is a hummingbird nest. Wow!!!

hummingbird nest
hummingbird nest

A framing shop in Coupeville, halfway up the island, has a cool display.

wooden frames on wooden wall
wooden frames on wooden wall

And finally, on my brother’s new farm, I will show you something he found as he was taking a walk into his woods. Everyone needs a buxom hippo in a pink dress with hearts on it don’t you think? Evidently it’s been there a while and it is now his.

wooden hippo
wooden hippo
Bertha close up
Bertha close up

7 thoughts on “wood

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

