ice

Heavens girls, how exciting! We awoke to an icicle wonderland which, sadly, had taken the power out around 3 a.m. The generator was brought from its place in the garage for the refrigerator, the radio and our one guilty pleasure of watching an episode of Downton Abby on DVD. Cable was out too, no internet, no cable TV. In our house, this causes much anxiety. Managed to get some work done in the studio but planning to get out there tonight to finish a basket now that I have real lights.

Power came on around noon, the house started to warm up soon after that. We have an outdoor wood stove that heats water that is pumped to the house, then the air handlers blow the warm air from the pipes into the house. It can take a while for it all to start working again, but fortunately I am married to a magician and it happened without any worry from me.

I was actually more worried about the cable, it is funny how attached I am to my internet, e-mails, blogs, and the New York Times…all things that I check several times a day and feel very lost without. But all is right with the world, at least for now. The wind has picked up, the rest of the ice will be off the trees and hopefully the power will stay where it is, happily flowing into our house and making us happy and warm.

The ice caused me to be more aware of noises. The quiet of the heating system, the lack of cars on the road due to slippery conditions and downed trees led me to hear the hum of the large power lines that pass by our house as well as the sirens that would go off every so often in the distance. But the biggest thing was the crackle of the ice and the sound of branches breaking in the woods or next to the house that sounded like gunshots. Our little house was in an altered auditory state for a few hours. Exciting and nerve-wracking at the same time.

Luckily, I bought some “crampons” for my trip to Yellowstone Park this next week and I have now had a chance to try them out and can say unequivocally that they work like champions. I shall not slip when viewing geysers.

Here are some pix from the day. It was still cloudy when I took them, later the sun came out but I missed getting more pictures.

I've never seen grass icicles before.
I’ve never seen grass icicles before.
a frozen river runs at the bottom of the hill
a frozen river runs at the bottom of the hill
the Hand wrapped in ice
the Hand wrapped in ice
The mighty oak...or at least it will be someday
The mighty oak…or at least it will be someday
wooly lamb's ears encased in ice
wooly lamb’s ears encased in ice
zebra grass
zebra grass
an echinacea ice cube
an echinacea ice cube
smoke bus
smoke bush
curly
curly
more curly tendrils
more curly tendrils
Shash covered in a layer of ice
Shash covered in a layer of ice
resting from the weight of the ice
resting from the weight of the ice

20 thoughts on “ice

    1. Thank you! I think it will probably be gone soon, or it will be covered with snow this weekend. Either way I’m gonna enjoy the hell out of spring when it finally comes.

  1. You seem well -equipped to cope with ice and lack of power….but these ice storms are extraordinary, as are your photos of the ice. I have been watching the ice storms in Europe via BBC.

    1. I grew up in the Northeast where it’s cold, snowy and the power goes out a lot. R laughs at me when I start putting out large pots to catch the rain but we have a well and therefore no water when the power is out. I start thinking about dogs, toilets and everything else that needs water. I go into survival mode when this happens. Ice is not something to laugh at and I figured we were due for a good ice storm, it’s been a few years.

  2. The beautiful but dangerous side of nature – you’ve captured it nicely in the post and the pics. Love this.

  3. Why on earth are you going to Yellowstone? Especially when you have such beauty to photograph right in your own back yard?
    *besides, it’s bound to be even colder out west. πŸ™‚

          1. Exactly..nothing like having them while it’s a heatwave!! double whammy….have taken to wearing a cold wet bandana around my neck..need an ice vest HAHAHAA πŸ™‚ Fozziemum

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

