Hiding

There they are!

Wait…I can’t see any.

Okay, look for the lone cottonwood tree…do you see it?

Yup.

Now look to the right and see the long strip of grasses?

Okay

Just to the right of that you should…

Oooooooh I see them!!!

This is what we heard a lot of on our trip. When you go on a naturalist trip, you tend to spend a lot of time describing where you saw whatever amazing animal(s) that you are looking at. Looking through a scope (aka a telescope) is very different than looking through binoculars or even the naked eye. It tends to isolate what you are seeing and when you pull away from it, you lose the animal in the bigger picture and it can take a while to find it again. But when you do, it’s magic. Even after seeing my 100th Mule deer or bison, I never got tired of being able to spot them. The best part was being the first to spot a group of mountain goats on a mountain side that was easily a mile away from us. It was almost like a game.

This is one way that animals have of defending themselves. If you blend into the landscape, and are upwind, a predator might have a more difficult time spotting you. And the cool thing is we were less than five miles out of town (Jackson, WY) when we spotted most of the animals I am showing today.

Here are some of the pictures I took while we were “glassing the slopes” (the term used when one is searching through scopes to find wildlife.) Since I don’t have a telescoping lens on my camera, I was forced to take pictures and then blow them up to see the animals. I think you will be able to see what I mean.

bigger picture of mule deer
bigger picture of mule deer
close up
close up
bigger picture of rough legged hawk
bigger picture of rough legged hawk
close up
close up
big horn sheep
bigger picture big horn sheep
bighornsheepdetail
close up

 

Of course, sometimes the sheep would oblige and show his silhouette against the sky…

bigger picture of big horn sheep
silhouette

Now here’s your test, there are actually two sets of sheep in this picture, can you see them without magnifying the picture? (You can click on each picture to see it more clearly)

_1080374
look below the big rock on the left and above the big rock on the right…do you see them now?
Bighornsheep2
close up

 

 

9 thoughts on “Hiding

    1. Fortunately we had expert help, our guides were naturalists with plenty of experience spotting things…they also knew where to look, having done this many times before.

  1. I am always amazed at the way the animals blend in..i can be staring at roos and not see them I am getting better though and may be ruining my eyes in the process ! the birds however most of the parrots standout boldly against the greens and greys…amazing..great pics 🙂

    1. I know what you mean about ruining eyes, my eyes actually hurt every evening because I was working so hard, especially my right one which was the telescope eye. The animals do blend in but movement helps, as does being told where to look. 🙂

  2. I couldn’t spot anything in the far shots except that nicely accommodating mountain sheep who stood in profile against the sky. Looks rugged and cold and starkly beautiful and obviously the home of many creatures if you care to look hard enough.

    1. It is rugged and cold although we missed the waaaay below zero temperatures of the week before. Lots of critters abound, and we did care, most of the time, although I did get tired of swiveling my head from one window to another.

  3. I’ll have to rummage through my old photos, but we have one where I got real close to a big horn ram — a bit too close, actually (12 to 15 feet?). He and I had a stare-down contest for several minutes, before I slowly backed away and he resumed eating grass.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

