spilled

The seeds

from last year’s

milkweed pods

spill over the ground

leading to

the hope

that this year’s

monarch butterflies

will have a bountiful feast.

spilled
spilled

 

Author’s note:

I am inspired to plant lots of milkweed this year in the hopes of providing a habitat for monarch butterflies. The numbers of butterflies has been drastically reduced over the past few years and I want to be a part of the struggle to increase their habitat that has been decimated by weather and loss of habitat. Milkweed’s handicap is that it is considered ugly and it is found commonly on ground that seems to have no purpose other than being razed to build homes and office buildings. That will not happen on my land while I own it, in fact the county will be planting dozens of native trees down by my creek in an attempt to stall the erosion that is happening. I think it would be awesome to continue that idea by constructing homes for butterflies.

I will keep you posted on my progress…

Please join me in this endeavor!!!

There are a lot of sites on the web that talk about milkweed. Here is a link that shows local nurseries that sell  milkweed. It is organized by state…

http://monarchwatch.org/bring-back-the-monarchs/resources/plant-seed-suppliers

This site has some good info on planting milkweed…

http://www.monarchwatch.org/milkweed/prop.htm

3 thoughts on “spilled

  1. I applaud your efforts. I have provided as much food as I can for the monarchs this year, but, sadly, although there are (and have been) lots of caterpillars I have not seen any new butterflies.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

