monarch butterfly

I know

you are expecting

a picture

of an

orange winged creature.

But instead

I will show you

the home for its

eggs.

The mighty milkweed,

home and food

for monarch caterpillars

has been planted

by my

little stream today.

Huzzah!

Long live the monarch!

a new home
a new home

 

Note: I am hoping this is the first two of many new milkweed that will be growing here over the next few years. I am excited that there is something, albeit a small something, that I can do to help the monarchs. They have given me so much pleasure over the years and I feel like I want to help them in any way I can. I hope it is not too late.

links for more info on the butterflies and the difficulties of their loss of habitat:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monarch_butterfly

http://www.monarchwatch.org/waystations/

 

11 thoughts on “monarch butterfly

  1. Oh, I love that you have created a monarch way station, thanks for the information. I am going to do this, too.

  2. I was talking with one of the Master Gardeners yesterday and she was telling me they’ve seen a 90% decrease in the Monarch population.  She plants butterfly weed but she sees very few chrysalises and hasn’t actually seen any Monarchs last year.

    We’ve go tons of tiger swallowtails and spicebush swallowtails, but I haven’t seen a Monarch since I’ve moved here.

    Mary Decker   Visit my website at http://www.chartreusemoose.com/    

  3. What a lovely gesture! I love Monarchs and look forward to their arrival each year. Looking forward to hearing about each step of your Monarch cycle now that the homes have been established!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

