a fine mess

-Look at my garden, I said. I couldn’t help but keep the smugness and pride out of my voice.

-It’s beautiful, he said. You must have worked very hard this spring, despite the cold weather.

-I did! Here, let me show you what’s new.

-Okay, he said.

-First of all, the kitchen porch garden is finally looking put together again, which only took two years from when the construction dudes destroyed it to add on to the porch.

-I remember! he exclaimed. That was such a big deal. It looks great now! Even the bird bath looks good. And I love love love the little owl hiding under the…what is that?

-It’s actually a huechera or coral bell…I love finding new varieties. And the birdbath, which is really a bug bath, got a shiny new paint job this year!

porch garden
porch garden
bug/birdbath
bug/birdbath
owl
owl

-Now around the side of the house…

-Wait, he said, why is this tree half bare?

redbud
redbud

-I think it’s because of the harsh winter. This redbud seems to be re-leafing very slowly. I’m hoping that it eventually finishes by fall! Now, as I was saying, around the house, the patio garden is finally all coming together. I moved some things from in front of the house to fill in some of the bare spots and now it looks like a real garden.

patio garden
patio garden
detail
detail

-What’s the vine that looks like it is taking over some of the bushes?  he asked.

-Ugh, I said, that is bindweed. I’m not sure where it came from but I have it in a few places and I wish I didn’t. I’ll send you a link so you can read about it.

-Okay.

-Next on the tour is my shade garden. Now remember, this is still a work in process so don’t expect much yet. There are, however, a few areas that are really starting to come together.

-Wow, he said, is that an Oak Leaf Hydrangea?

-Yup, isn’t it beautiful? And the hostas, astilbe and other shade plants seem to be thriving this year. Ignore the weeds, that’s something I still have to get to.

oak leaf hydrangea
oak leaf hydrangea
shade garden
shade garden

-And finally, my pièce de résistance…the goose girl garden. She went in last October and I didn’t have time to really fill in the bare spots. I hope you like it.

-Oh, I do very much. She seems so tranquil and happy in that setting. It looks like some of the plants in the back got hit by the winter as well.

-Yes, but I think those Laurels will look beautiful in another month or so. They had a double shock, being transplanted in the fall and then the long freeze. They are already starting to get new leaves. And eventually they will block the view of the driveway.

Goose Girl garden
Goose Girl garden
goose girl
goose girl

-So, he said, the curb appeal of your house is awesome…what’s next on the list?

-Oh. I wish you hadn’t asked. I have one more garden but it is a complete disaster area as it took me this long to plant, weed and mulch around the house and I had no time to work on it.

-Oh do show…I want to see it.

-Sigh. Okay. But remember, it needs a lot of work. This is my barn garden, started from scratch and full of things that like to take over. It needs an enormous overhaul…weeding, replanting etc.

And before I could ask if he wanted to help, he remembered a Very Important Appointment that he had to get to and disappeared so quickly I barely had a chance to say goodbye. I guess he liked looking at gardens more than digging in them. Weird.

disaster area
disaster area
lots of work
lots of work
what path?
what path?

 

11 thoughts on “a fine mess

  1. Lovely to see! I’m about to post about my Spring garden…my small redbud is ALWAYS the last in leaf…so good to see it when it starts! And if ye want to know what a disaster area REALLY looks like……ermmmm…..well I may be too shamefaced to post that! Charlie.

    1. Noooo. you should show it, I would love to see that i’m not alone in disaster areas! 🙂 Fortunately I have a recently graduated high school student who is going to work for me next weekend to clean mine up and get some stuff moved around. Otherwise it would take me all summer to get that one fixed up.

          1. Apologies! sometimes I get near to throwing the laptop out of the window…so have to go and water things to calm down! Can’t remember what I wrote then, but am envious of your young help!
            As I get older I’m not so ‘on top’ of weeding the beds….last autumn I had to lift everything from a couch-grass-infested bed, ….I’ll never get rid of the couch grass, unless I covered it all in black plastic for 4 years…NOT! But this year I’m excited to see how the totally replanted bed comes up…..Most of my garden looks like your “disaster area”…but I can get away with it more in rural Ireland!

  2. Glad you are going to have some help with the disaster area but I would like to call it a delightful wilderness. Bugs of all sorts love a wilderness so think of it as providing sustenance to wild life! The rest of your garden is exemplary. You must have done a mountain of work to have it looking so good. By the way, I have lots of heucheras. I love them.

    1. Huecheras are great, low maintenance, interesting colors throughout the summer…
      Yes, the barn garden is a delightful wilderness but it just needs a little more organizing. I won’t disturb it too much but I have some things to move around and take out…should be fun!

  3. Gorgeous gardens and I see a Rustic garden not a disaster…I will post some of our Autumn clean up work which should have you feeling better in a flash 🙂 …urrrghhhh the gardens you have d worked on are beautiful….just hide the rest till the enthusiasm levels rise 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xxx

    1. Unfortunately I pass by the barn garden to get to my studio and I see all the things like gooseneck loosestrife, creeping thyme and other things taking over from the more delicate things like peonies…I am looking forward to getting my hands into that garden!

      1. I have crap to finish too…urghhhh…boiling water will kill those weeds..i use salt in the paths and water it in..of course there is no garden nearby for the run off to be a problem..sure works a treat..wouldn’t use it on gardens though..salinity is a big enough problem..always weeds…urghhhh and gorse here too…

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

