prayers

He sits on

the branch

meditating

in his prayerful pose

taking the world in

through his senses,

aware of

if not happy with

my presence

as remarked

by a certain

abrupt

turn of the head

as if he can

really see me

through his

opaque

shuttered

eyes.

I honor

his need for

solitude

and back away

for I am

just a

casual observer

of life

and too big

to be

his dinner.

he knows I'm here
he knows I’m here
waiting
waiting
on the echinacea
on the echinacea

We have a plethora of praying mantises around the house right now. I was taking a picture of one when I realized that there are three more on the same bush. They were various sizes and ranged from green to brown.  As I was photographing them, I saw the obvious remains of a mantis skin. I did not know that praying mantii shed their skin until I saw this husk on the pine bush.

husk
molten mantis

I am glad to see so many this year, I always feel like it is lucky somehow to have them around. Besides, we can all use any prayers we can get, right???

9 thoughts on “prayers

    1. I did some reading and you are right, they can see…sort of. It looks like they have awesome sight up to 50 feet but it is mostly triggered by movement. However, they can swivel their heads up to 180 degrees…they really can see behind them! Very cool animals…

      1. “In China, the mantis has long been honored for her mindful movements. 
        The mantis never makes a move unless she is 100% positive it is the right thing for her to do. This is a message to us to contemplate and be sure our minds and souls all agree together about the choices we are making in our lives.” I found this online.

  1. I am sure it must be lucky to have so many in your garden. But, but…how do you know that his eyes aren’t bigger than his stomach and that he isn’t considering you for dinner? Tee hee. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

