approved by inspector 43

What do you do if someone puts a life-sized steel giraffe in your yard? Why climb it of course!

Max and Izzy
Max and Izzy
Max
Max approves

“Vulnerability” came home yesterday after spending six years or so at Quiet Waters Park in Annapolis, MD. Quiet Waters is a county park and as such has no money so they have been enjoying the giraffe gratis for all this time. Not that I’m stingy or anything but I decided that enough was enough and it was time for me to enjoy her for a while. In the process I came to a momentous decision…within the next year I am going to be turning my little six acre “farm” into a sculpture garden. The musk ox and the egg will be following suit in May and as you already know, I am going to be making some new sculptures (like a kangaroo) to add to the pack (herd?). I have been wanting to do this for years and, thanks to my wise sister, I have decided to cross the threshold between dream and reality.

So, the first step was getting the giraffe home, a move that seems to be meeting with approval from all directions (except the neighbor next to me who has the lovely view of a giraffe ass…don’t worry Don, it will be turned eventually). I have a little repair work to do, some of the pieces were in danger of flying off in transit so I took them off before we left. The move was exciting, albeit a little wet. I left the actual moving to the pros…the guys with forklifts and ratchet straps and years in the business…

strapped onto the forklift
strapped onto the forklift
the head and neck wait on the ground
the head and neck wait on the ground
getting on the flatbed
getting on the flatbed
being strapped down
being strapped down
driving behind the trailer
driving behind the trailer

The cool thing is that I can see her from my reading chair in my office. She looks happy. So am I.

at home
at home

 

15 thoughts on “approved by inspector 43

    1. It was an easier day than anticipated. I didn’t get any pictures of the delivery because I was too busy. I didn’t have the five strong men at home that I did at the park. It was just Rich and I and an all terrain forklift in the rain.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

