on a roll

I am humming these days…my brain cloud has blown off the coast and I can see clearly now the rain is…oh good grief.

What I’m trying to say is that I am on a roll. The studio is the place to be which for a few years it definitely was NOT. I am enjoying life and art and I am so very grateful for that.

So what is new in the studio? The kangaroo is continuing to take shape, although I am always taken by surprise at howΒ many times I have to cut stuff out and start all over again. That is the problem with drawing in three dimensions. Erasing is not as easy as it is in two dimensions. But I am a strict taskmaster and if I don’t like the way something is looking then it must go go go. So you can be assured that the final roo will look different than the beginning shown here.

in process
in process

As far as those cool baskets/vessels/woven things go…I am revamping/revising the whole idea. After working on them for a year I have come to the realization that they are too time consuming to make with steel. From cutting to bending to welding to sandblasting to painting to weaving to reweaving…it is way too much work. So I am working on some new ideas with polymer clay and yarn. I am NOT going to show them to you (well okay, you can have this one sneak peek).

color galore!
color galore!

I am trying really hard to stay with the process as an experiment…to play with the unseen, the undone, the unknown. It’s all about playing, trying, doing. I tend to think too much and to want perfection which then makes the creative process just that little bit more tense and tight. Loosey Goosey is the idea, just try stuff, make it ugly…perfection and beauty are not the goal. New ideas/experiments are the name of the game. And this part of the process is mine, not yours. I won’t even promise that there will be a finished product for you at the end. I don’t want that stress, that pressure. I don’t want to be stuck in a box (although Max seems to enjoy that immensely.)

in a box
in a box

And finally, in case you happen to be in the area (or know someone who is in the area) I wanted to remind you that this Thursday is the opening of the sculpture show at the Carroll County Arts Center in Westminster, MD. from Jan. 8 to Feb. 28. Four of my time-consuming baskets will be there. The opening reception is on Thursday Jan. 8 from 5:30 to 7:30…for more information click here.

 

19 thoughts on “on a roll

  1. Wow my sweets that roo is coming along fabulously! the tail is great..thick and looking just like the tails that rest in my yard πŸ™‚ I am so glad you have your mojo! I lost mine on holidays on the first trip out to take what I believe are the worst pictures ever..really put me in a downer..i mena it’s my thing..i love to share the beauty I see and when it turns to crap ..well had a little tantie and got over it πŸ™‚ the rest of the trip got some of my best pics..so bravo to us πŸ™‚ and pee ess love the colour and form in your new art πŸ™‚ hugs and loves Bev xxx

    1. Thanks Bev. Actually the tail is a little too thick when you look at it from above…one of the things that will change before it’s done.
      I know that feeling when something doesn’t work right. For some reason you were not meant to take good pictures that day. Oh well. Loved all of the others though, looks like you had a fabulous holiday!

      1. Thanks sweets..i have a bazillion to go through…curse of the virgo…haahah and I am sure you will get the tail bang on! we have not had them around as the ground is pretty barren of feed for them..i look forward to seeing the roo finished πŸ˜‰ and yes we had a great holiday with many more things to share…urghh photos..i am going cross eyed! xx

    2. I’ve just had a transformative trip, with friends and no wifi, no emails, no FB, and Boy! was that a learning curve! and on my trip I took a rake of photographs, but being less than vigilant, I asked a dear friend to download my pics, to clear my memory card….and boy! did it get cleared! Demolished no less….another lesson! We live and learn…sometimes we just live….so it goes! x

        1. I did that once. I have learned to never let the computer erase what is on my camera. Thought I had downloaded a bunch of pix, deleted the disk and then realized that half of the pictures didn’t download. Ugh. Sorry about your vacation pix…glad you had a good time tho.

          1. Yikes my worst nightmare..i will not let anyone do mine if I make a mistake that’s bad enough hahaah..it was only one day out of ten that I stunk..hahaah thank fully! πŸ™‚

      1. It was very hot for me but I loved seeing all the glorious colours on the trees. It was a visit to spend time with frail parents. Lots of lovely birds. I adore the Torres Island pigeons/doves.

        1. It was hot and humid! and we spet a lot of time walking in rainforests.certainly got a sweat up..mind you got back home to worse weather! I hope your visit with your folks was good πŸ™‚ and yes the birds are lovely and the Flame trees were stunning πŸ™‚

          1. How wonderful! I feel like you guys are having a conversation in my living room. I, too, have been to the rainforest in Cairns and yes it is humid…especially when you go the minute you get off the plane after traveling for 36 hours…not much different than where I live though…

          2. Haahahah yep we got off and it was drip city…when we got home Melbourne was 38C but it was a relief as it was low humidity (bad for fires good for me) love the rainforest..just amazing πŸ™‚ and yes convo’s in the living room that is the joy of blogging πŸ™‚ xx

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

