missing

Tiger Woods and I finally have something in common. We are both missing a tooth. The difference is that mine was taken out by a licensed dental professional and not a photographer.

Tiger Woods
don’t you just love his choice of gaiter??? It’s as if he almost knew what was coming…

 

In case you missed the news, I am getting braces. It seems that I have spent the majority of my 52 years with teeth that were really unsuited for chewing food, at least on one side. I’m not sure why it took me this long to figure it out, perhaps because no dentist understood how wacky my teeth were until I said something. Here’s the thing. Dentists are good but they can’t possibly know what is going on in your mouth when you are eating.

So I finally spoke up and told my dentist that I had trouble eating small things like rice and pasta on the right side of my mouth. He took impressions of my teeth to see what I was talking about.ย (How weird to see your teeth on the outside of your mouth.) Yes indeedy, the teeth on my right side don’t even come close to touching. ย So off I went to an orthodontist who assured me that he could fix the problem. The only catch was that I would have to have a tooth taken out in order for the rest of my teeth to easily move into a better alignment. That stopped me in my tracks for a while but the thought of chewing normally was too strong an incentive.

I’m sure you are dying to know all the gory details but we are going to fast forward to today. I am recovering from the tooth extraction that I had done yesterday. Getting a tooth out is not that big a deal, physically. For me the harder part was the sense of emotional loss that I went through. It felt weird removing perfectly good tooth. I didn’t realize how attached I was to my teeth. I am feeling very sad to see that hole…perhaps it is a sign of much larger losses that I have been through in my life. I don’t know.

I am not going to show you a picture of me with a missing tooth…I am too vain for that. Fortunately, I have an Invisalign plate with a tooth painted in to wear when I am out in public. That way I don’t have to keep my mouth closed the whole time.

Instead, I will post a picture of my grand niece who (blessedly) has all her teeth and a whole bunch of chocolate sauce on her face…someday my smile will be this big and beautiful…

chocolate girl
chocolate girl

 

16 thoughts on “missing

  1. Sweetie the dentist and I are not the best of friends…I have 4 teeth left (that are mine) and due ti the srjogren’s they have to go this year..i will be glad to say goodbye to them..they have been nothing but trouble…I am glad you are getting your mouth sorted though as eating in odd angles does no good for your jaw..big hugs Bev xx

    1. yes, my jaw is a little wonky because of eating on one side for a few years. It really sucks that you have sjogren’s. I really give you credit for living such a full life. You are amazing…

      1. Sweets thank you..have no choice just get up and carry on..with a fair dose of complainng haahhahah ๐Ÿ™‚ add fibro and osteo and I am almost complete dud hahaaha ๐Ÿ™‚ pity I do not listen to my body..it can just get on with it ๐Ÿ˜‰ and I am surprised you have not had mega headaches either!

        1. Nope, no headaches, my body seems to be surprisingly pain free at the moment…and I hope it stays that way. It’s amazing what we pain and limitations we can live with…

          1. I guess we adapt..i have always had a huge tolerance to pain..but when I got fibro it became the opposite..i just had a lovely swim and that’s always good for the bits ๐Ÿ™‚ it’s foul out there today 40.9 already and only 12.30..urghhh so today I sweat instead of ache hahhaa ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

    1. It will be fabulous but I am a bit whiny right now. The missing tooth is more of an issue than I had anticipated…Going out to eat (which I love) is awkward. It’s hard to hide that my tooth is missing and I am not comfortable looking like a hillbilly.

    1. Thanks for the words of encouragement…I find I am not happy having a missing tooth but it is the end product which keeps me going. I really appreciate all your honesty on your blog. I am getting scanned next week and then four weeks after that I will start the grand process. I have to keep remembering that I am doing this so that I can chew on both sides of my mouth.

      1. I figure there is no point blogging if you aren’t being honest with yourself!
        Honestly, it’s not that scary. Just have your toothbrush kit ready to go and you will be fine! Be prepared to overcome your inhibitions though as I have learnt to remove my trays anywhere, any time and brush my teeth anywhere, anytime. Some blogs I have read talk about only using certain bathrooms etc but that is when it starts to impact your life.
        Let me be the first random person to say I’m proud of you for getting it done! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

        1. Thanks! I need to find a bigger pocketbook, mine does not have room for tooth paraphernalia. One thing about a missing tooth, it will make the eventual braces seem a bit less daunting and embarrassing. And I can’t wait to see how your teeth turn out!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

