tink tink tink

I was sitting in my studio earlier tonight working on a miniature version of a sculpture. The CD had run its course and it was quiet except for the “tink tink tink” of the frozen precipitation that was coming down outside. We are in for a long night of “nobody quite knows what will come out of the sky”. This is the kind of winter weather I don’t like, the unexpected and somewhat dangerous frozen-in-between stuff. Fortunately I have nowhere to go tomorrow but my studio and I can always put spiky things on my boots when I walk over there.

In the spirit of what is coming out of the sky I thought that it would be appropriate to post some recent pictures of what the weather has been like around here. I am looking forward to being able to take my time in the next few days and take my camera out for some more visual reporting. For now, enjoy these pix! (Especially if you are one of those sweltering people down under…thinking of you.)

The snow came down in beautiful big flakes the other day and I sat in my upstairs studio and watched it paint everything a dusty white.

from the upstairs studio
from the upstairs studio

Later that evening, while making dinner I looked out and my attention was captured by how the dying light makes the snow so very blue.

evening snow
evening snow

And this is why we changed the kitchen around and added big windows and doors…this view is so awesome when it snows!

looking out the kitchen door
looking out the kitchen door

The snow has mostly melted in the few days since and when I came out of the studio I couldn’t help but be distracted by how the frost and melting snow crystals had painted designs all over the concrete ramp to the barn.

frost on the concrete
frost on the concrete
frost from the melting snow
frost from the melting snow

I particularly like this last one, it looks to me like something shadowy is growing out from the grass onto the concrete.

snow grass and frost abstract
snow grass and frost abstract

Isn’t Mother Nature an amazing artist??? I can’t wait to see what’s out there tomorrow…

 

13 thoughts on “tink tink tink

  1. Ah the sweaty woman here is rolling vicariously on your snow 🙂 I agree the view is amazing z;0 and all that snow…ahhhhh I am off to jump in the pool! it’s only 31C which is better than yesterdays40.9C but it’s humid..so thankyou for the beautiful cool pics 🙂 loves Bev xx

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

