plump and fluffy

I have been waiting for a while to get pictures of our resident mockingbird. He likes to hang out on the Japanese Maple bush which is outside our kitchen door. He is not usually concerned with dogs, cats or me, I’ve seen him sitting in the viburnum bush while all of us are sitting on the patio. Today he seemed a little shyer than normal, but he still sat in the maple tree while I took pictures, only flying off when my husband came out of the garage. I would stand around waiting to take better pix, but it is really really cold out there, the thermometer said 2 degrees (F) this morning (that is -17 C) and I don’t feel like freezing my buns off to get a picture of a bird…there will be other, warmer days.

mockingbird

At one point he must have seen something that he didn’t like in the distance because he stretched himself up and looked down the hill.

mockingbird

In addition, we are home to a male downy woodpecker and a flicker. Haven’t captured the flicker yet, but hopefully I will soon.

*NOTE* My naturalist friend Melinda says that this is actually a Yellow Bellied Sapsucker. I don’t want to spread misinformation around the web so I am changing my identification…evidently the red on a down woodpecker is on the back of the head. The Sapsucker has red on the front. Thanks for the info Melinda. I think maybe I should send all my pix to you first!!!

downy woodpecker

I love this time of year when the birds are so fluffy and round. It means they are getting enough food and they have nice winter down…and they need it. We are scheduled for another snow storm tonight, perhaps 4 to 8 inches of snow. We are definitely going to deserve spring…

11 thoughts on “plump and fluffy

  1. Birds fluffing feathers is actually one of the mechanisms they use to cope with cold temperatures and to stay warm. When feathers are fluffed, air pockets are created to assist with better insulating the bird. I was curious to learn how birds survive in cold weather. If you want to learn more ways birds cope with cold, here is a link to share what I found out:
    http://justanothernatureenthusiast.org/2014/12/28/weekly-photo-challenge-warmth-coping-like-a-bird/

    ~Jane

  2. A sapsucker, good to know! I have one that visits often and I always assumed he was a little version of the big woodpecker that lives in our garden. Very happy to have this information.

    1. He doesn’t seem to be very vocal this winter…maybe it’s too early to be singing. or to cold. or something. I’m sure he will become quite vocal when it warms up.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

