finishing off the berries

The mockingbird,

for months a

plump mess of

puffed out feathers

and attitude,

returns in a sleek

new spring suit

to finish off the

few remaining

dark purple

freeze dried berries

that linger on the

viburnum bush.

mockingbird mockingbird mockingbird mockingbird mockingbird mockingbird P1050263Mockingbird

Gosh I love my camera. I have now found the burst/continuous shot that allows me to take pictures of things as they are moving. Needless to say, I am focusing on the birds these days, especially this mockingbird which has been hanging out on the viburnum bush throughout the winter. I love how he catches the berry at the end of his beak then flips it up into his mouth.

I did not realize until I took these pix today that the inside of mockingbird mouths were yellow. I mean it’s not exactly my thing to go up to a mockingbird and say “Open wide”…

mockingbird

5 thoughts on “finishing off the berries

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

