roos and such

So this has been a jam-packed week full of good stuff and chaos. Geothermal system is in and operational (although our yard is looking like an enormous rodent has burrowed several trails into it). Of course we just turned off the heat as it’s been quite balmy but we will get to try the air-conditioning soon enough.

The beginning of the week found me and my friend in Virginia at the Safari Park looking at kangaroos. They have a mob of about 20 or so hanging out there. You can walk into their enclosure and get pretty close to them. Of course I started chatting up one of the employees and wrangled an invitation into the center of the enclosure to pet one of them. Some times it is beneficial to be an out-going person and willing to talk to total strangers. I was able to get some really useful pictures to help me when I am finishing my sculpture.

kanga1 kanga2 kanga3 kanga5 kanga6 kanga7 knaga8

This one is my all time favorite. I promise you it isn’t dead, just sleeping.

kanga4

Needless to say I have lots of work ahead of me in the studio. While these guys were considerably smaller than mine (Fozziemum tells me that is common for captive roos) not to mention the fact that they are red kangas and not grey, I have realized that there are some things that mustย be changed on my sculpture.

The thing of it is…the kangaroo sculpture time is going to be seriously compromised next month…I have been accepted into a summer residency program for sculpture at the School for Visual Arts in New York City. It is a month-long residency and I will be mentored and guided by teachers, gallery owners etc as I continue to explore some of my other sculptures. I am specifically interested in working on my basket weavings and taking them into a whole new, and possibly public, direction. I am so excited about this opportunity, I love the city and can’t wait to exploreย all the arts that happen there.

So all in all it’s been an awesome week, one to be remembered for quite some time…

13 thoughts on “roos and such

  1. How lovely to get a scratch of the roos ๐Ÿ™‚ seems they have grey and red roos :)..the reds are usually a lot bigger than the greys we get here and are mainly in desert areas so their ears tend to be a bit bigger too ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree about the ‘camping’ roo the one sleeping…they look so funny when they do that..often all I can see is a blur of white bellies ๐Ÿ™‚ on the paddocks..great that you got some close ups..and I always speak up and get some good opportunities ๐Ÿ˜‰ have fin translating the pics to your work..very exciting and I know the pain of landscape urks….yikes ๐Ÿ™‚ loves Bev xxx

    1. The guy at the park told me that they were all reds, that the females reds are actually gray. They do say on their website that the have Eastern grays…all I know is that they were kangaroos. And they are very soft, much softer than I had anticipated.

      1. I didn’t know that..they are indeed small for reds then ..and yes they are very soft aren’t they..koalas are too and wombats are bit coarser ๐Ÿ™‚ loves Bev xxxx

        1. When I held a koala in Cairns I was surprised at the wiry fur, I thought they would be softer. (They are heavy too!!!) I have never had the pleasure of holding or petting a wombat. I’m not sure if I am glad or sad about that.

          1. Hahahha i have held Koalas and the fur though not as soft as the roo is still softer then the robust and ornery wombat…they are hilarious animals! where in Cairns did you go ? the Cairns night zoo ?

  2. Lovely photos. And great you got up close and personal. I wouldn’t want to annoy those claws though! How exciting to be doing the summer residency programme. Congratulations on your acceptance.

  3. I’ve never seen those claws before – quite intimidating! What a great opportunity for you – both spending time in NYC and doing the art you love, big congratulations!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

