rollercoaster? what rollercoaster???

I took this picture the other day when I was doing some onsite research about eyes. I found out that kangaroo eyes and horses eyes are not really all that similar. They are closer than goats, dogs or cats which are the only other animals that I have to work with around here. This first picture is of my neighbor’s male horse, a really butt head and attention hound so to speak. In other words, a typical adolescent male. The second is my neighbor’s friend’s horse named Clover, a sweet, docile thing.

ringo
ringo
clover
clover

“So what is this about a rollercoaster” you are asking? Well, I’ll tell you. Three weeks ago I was accepted to attend a summer residency in Sculpture at the School of Visual Arts in NYC. Then two weeks later they contacted me and said that the program was cancelled. After trying to come to terms with the fact that I was not going to NYC for the art residency (and not succeeding very well), lo and behold, an opportunity to attend a different section of the program fell into my lap today. The dates are the same, the opportunities for working in the art studios are the same. What is different is the title of this residency and the focus. The title is “FROM THE LABORATORY TO THE STUDIO: INTERDISCIPLINARY PRACTICES IN BIO ART”

I know, I know…what the hell does THAT mean? Well it is actually very cool. There are many different layers to the residency, the first of which is that I will have the ability to study many parts of nature from skeletons to things that can only be seen under a microscope and then create something (don’t ask me what) from all of that. The deeper part is searching for ways to use art to facilitate knowledge and understanding about some of the amazing ways that scientists are working. It’s all a bit murky to me as well but I gotta tell you it sounds incredibly exciting and I can’t wait to see what I come up with in the next few weeks. Oh yeah, I leave next Monday…gotta go, I have lists to make!!!

6 thoughts on “rollercoaster? what rollercoaster???

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

