bags are packed

This is a very quick blog post as I am packed and ready to leave for NYC tomorrow morning for my month-long residency. I am super excited (and nervous and panicky) and I hope I have everything I need but I have heard that there are stores in New York in case I’ve forgotten something really important like a…oh crap I don’t have a pot to cook pasta in and…well you get the picture. It’s going on 9 pm and I figure if I don’t have it by now then I will have to get it in New York.

Before I go I wanted to share pix of a walk I took the other day, I am going to miss my peonies, the ants have been busy and the first ones have just started blooming (the yellow tree peony popped yesterday and the pink one in the big garden started today). I did get to see some iris, even the ones that got transplanted a couple of weeks ago put their game face on and threw out a few small dwarfy flowers. Mr. R. has promised me that he will water all the things I transplanted and that he will harvest peas which will be done by the time I get back. We’ll see if he actually gets his hands dirty…

So, here are some of the pix I’ve taken in the last couple of days…next ones will be of concrete, stone and…who knows???

fly
fly
tree peony bud
tree peony bud
30 minutes...and it is now open
30 minutes later…and it is now open
grass lily
grass lily
quince
quince
yup, it's tilting a bit
yup, it’s tilting a bit
iris
iris
ants are busy
the ants are busy

And finally, I have had the pleasure of waking up to the squirrels playing a game in the tree outside my window. I don’t know if there is a little randiness going on or if this is pure play but it has been fun to watch them circling around branches and leaping from one to another. I caught this guy through the window. Unfortunately I knew that if I actually opened the window he would flee and so he did. But I did manage to snap a few pix through the closed window before he departed.

sitting in the sun
sitting in the sun

I will be posting from New York of course, but if you want to see posts more often, “like” my Facebook page. I plan to be putting status updates fairly regularly there…

https://www.facebook.com/VSperryStudio

Have a great week!!!

5 thoughts on “bags are packed

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

