It’s a wonderful town

Yup, I’m here in the Big Apple, as evidenced by the noises that are coming through the open window. Sounds of skateboards, sirens, trucks driving over steel plates, people talking and laughing, construction down the street and the ever present car horns all fight to get into my room intact. I have to admit to a feeling of claustrophobia when I first got here, I am definitely not used to concrete, white walls and no windows. I have managed to find some green spaces and there is a lovely park on the Hudson River that shows the new World Trade Center and the Statue of Liberty. The food is awesome, I haven’t had a bad meal yet and the people for the most part are wonderful. The city cleared out for the long weekend (Memorial Day) and the pace became much more relaxed.

My residency is a bit out in left field for me, this bio art thing is full of words and phrases like symbiotic biology,/transgenic art/bioinformatics/computational biology/structural genomics and genetic manipulation. I try not to feel stupid and old and wish that I had gone further with science than my high school freshman year biology class. But then again, most of what is going on today in the biology world wasn’t even a pipe dream back then. I might have been more comfortable in the sculpture residency but I wouldn’t be learning such cutting edge stuff either.

I still don’t quite know the direction my art will take in the next few weeks, but I am glad I am here to be learning all this new stuff. I don’t think that cloning is in my future (although I might learn how to clone a plant) but it is fascinating to know that it can be done.

So, since this is a blog about finding art in my daily life, I will leave you with some photos that I have taken over the last week or so. There are always cool patterns to be seen around the city…enjoy!

This is my little cubby hole of a studio.
This is my little cubby hole of a studio. Good things waiting to happen!!!
It's always possible to find art on the street if you know where to look
It’s always possible to find art on the street if you know where to look
One of the installations at the New Museum
One of the installations at the New Museum
These rows of bricks intrigued me
These rows of bricks intrigued me
even zooming in on three of them was cool
even zooming in on three of them was cool
Steps to nowhere...I actually got under a truck parked in the road in order to take this picture.
Steps to nowhere…I actually got under a truck parked in the road in order to take this picture.

4 thoughts on “It’s a wonderful town

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

