a wild ride

New York City is such an amazing place. No matter the time or day, there is something that is happening, something that is guaranteed to grab your attention and say “Hey…this doesn’t ever happen at home does it?”

I am busy in my residency. I have actually finished my project way ahead of schedule. I chalk this up to having absolutely no life other than the residency. I also figure that I have spent countless amounts of hours over the past few years not working when I should so this is a good time to balance the scale. And quite honestly, when will I have access to such amazing mentors, artistic equipment and exhibition space as I do right now?

I feel like I have grown so much as an artist in the short amount of time I have been here. I have gone to lectures on subjects about which I knew nothing and met people that I didn’t even know existed. I have painted with phosphorescent bacteria, grown mycelium and SCOBY (look it up) and looked at pizza flour under a microscope. I have gone to lots of galleries with more on the list. I have hit the New Museum and the Met, I still have the Whitney to see. I have walked the Highline and spent a pleasant hour in the Strand bookstore. I spent yesterday wandering around Bushwick (Brooklyn) going into dozens of artist studios.

The food has been amazing (-ly expensive) and I think this is the best city in the world to find a good cocktail. Central Park is the place to be on a warm sunny Sunday afternoon. I have explored new areas of the city from the meat packing district to the Lower East Side/Village to Brooklyn.

And, perhaps most exciting of all, I have garnered some really positive comments from my teacher, a woman who doesn’t mince words, who says what she thinks which is just the way I like it. I think that my work has shifted a bit and I can see how much more I have to go before I will feel like I am plumbing the depths. Actually, I don’t think that will ever happen but I am happy that I am going in that direction.

And because you all have been ever so patient, I will share a couple more pictures of my installation with you. If you want to see it for yourself in person, come to the School of Visual Arts building at 335 W. 16th between 8th and 9th (across from the Google building and around the corner from Chelsea Market) on Thursday June 18 at 6 p.m. My studio/exhibition space is on the fifth floor. I’d love to see you! Oh, and tell a friend or two…the more the merrier.

installation installation installation

13 thoughts on “a wild ride

  1. Wouldn’t it be cool if everyone who reads your blog just showed up on June 18th at 6 pm? We would have a great time together. An you could buy us all a “good cocktail” afterwards!

  2. What a shame I can’t come into the city on Thursday nights; I would have loved to come see you and your work. I would even have bought you a cocktail to celebrate your work! I went to the new Whitney the day it opened and I liked the new space very much. We had the luxury of having the place almost to ourselves so we were giggling like schoolchildren with glee as well!

    1. I would love to have a cocktail with you any night you can make it in…I think I will hit the Whitney some morning first thing, maybe this weekend.

      1. I’ll have a look at my schedule and see if I can come into the city one day soon, and then I’ll let you know. Hopefully we can figure something out 🙂

          1. I just sent you an email to the address I found on your site about meeting up on Saturday. If you don’t get it for whatever reason, let me know. Hope we can meet!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

