home again home again

Jiggity jog.

We just had a huge thunderstorm go through and I was able to watch the whole thing. No buildings were in the way, No sounds of traffic outside, just a storm and trees blowing in the wind, rain coming down, dogs panting…it was wonderful.

New York is so very vertical. At least Manhattan is. I am not sure I could live there. I am used to “vista”. There is no vista in Manhattan unless you are high up or next to a river.

But I have to say I am so very glad I had the experience at the School of Visual Arts. I am still processing my time there, both personally and as an artist. Personally I found my limitations of being away from home. Call me a wuss, but I really find it difficult to be away for more than three weeks. I start to make friends with any stranger with a dog and seek out every little facsimile of “country”.

Professionally, the processing will take some time. The opening was amazing, I managed to finish four installations which taught me something about myself. I am good at creating “site-specific” art. Give me a wall, a cubby hole, a hillside, and I can fill it with art that makes sense visually, that fits in with what is there and enhances it. This is such a great skill to have and I feel very blessed to be able to do this. My theater training and my craft training also allow me to create quickly. I know tricks and shortcuts to creating an impression, a scene as it were, one that can draw the viewer in, make them want to be a part of the story.

Now I just have to figure out how to market this, how to develop it and become a force in the art world. Piece of cake eh???

I also got in touch with my conceptual side. This means I made the leap from “object” to “concept”. The way I did this was to take an object and put it on the wall, then make more to go with it. Eventually a story appeared, a conversation if you will, about our relationship with trash and how the planet is adapting to it…or not. This conversation continued through to the next three installations, with plastic cups being the common denominator.

I also really enjoyed playing with the fibers and other materials that I have never worked with. Pipe insulation, tension wire, plastic coated wire…all of it was incorporated into the pieces. I have more materials in my arsenal now.

I leave you with pictures of the last two installations. If you haven’t seen the first two, check out the previous blog posts.There were professional pix taken at the opening, they will appear on my website as soon as I get them, probably some time in the next couple of weeks.

the title #3 #3 detail #3 detail #4 #5

the belle of the ball
the belle of the ball
me and my honey
me and my honey

8 thoughts on “home again home again

  1. To market, to market, to buy a fat pig? 😉 If you found a way to market your art, would you buy pigs with the proceeds? Pet pigs are supposed to be wonderful. Okay, joking aside, I love all the fabrics, materials and textures in your installation. One place where your art would make a great visual impact would be at the Royal Albatross Centre in Dunedin, New Zealand. They have a section on plastic in the ocean and what it is doing to wildlife and in particular, the albatross. http://www.doc.govt.nz/nature/native-animals/birds/birds-a-z/albatrosses/royal-albatross-toroa/ Horrifying stuff.

    1. Plastic is such a difficult material. On the one hand it has made our lives so much easier and on the other it has screwed up the world big time. Hard to know what to do with it…Thanks for the Albatross Centre idea…I will look into it!
      P.S. No pigs. Ever. Unless it is bacon. In which case, bring it on.

  2. Sounds like a great experience and an exhibit in NYC – great in its own! I love the mixed textures of all your pieces but am really struck by the piece pouring into the plastic bottles. So nice that your honey could make it – you both look so happy.

  3. So great to see the last two installations and to see the artist herself posing with the piece (you look like a native New Yorker in the photo, haha!).

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

