“cap’n thar be whales”

If you are a Star Trek fan you will recognize this quote from one of the movies. We kept saying this during the trip. We saw humpback whales and orcas, the latter of which evidently are not always to be seen in that area. The do exist but they don’t always show their faces. I did get to see their faces but you won’t. I more often got pictures of tails or the mist of air as they breached. As I stated in the last post, I am not the patient kind of photographer who waits with my eye to the viewfinder just to get “that” picture. You know, the picture that produces the oohs and aaahs in the slide show at the end of the cruise. No, I would rather just experience the magic first hand, the sounds of the humpback whales breathing (which you can hear and see from a great distance if the ship’s engines are turned off), the beauty of the orcas surfacing in groups and the last flip of the tail before the great beasts go back down to get some more food. And there really was a magic to it, one that I happily shared with the group on the boat.

I have started to figure out lightroom, so here are some of my pix of the whales after I have worked on them a bit. I still am annoyed at the “noise” which no matter what I do will not go away. Lesson learned. Sigh.

breaching
breaching
dorsal fin
dorsal fin
on its way down
on its way down
bye bye
bye bye
waving its fin
waving its fin
swimming together
swimming together

2 thoughts on ““cap’n thar be whales”

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

