power surge

ice abstract
ice abstract

One day we went out in Zodiacs and motored fairly close to the glacier. As we were driving towards it we were able to get really close to the floating icebergs…i.e. the chunks that “calved” from the glacier. Despite the movement of the Zodiac, the wind and the rain I was able to get this really cool abstract of the ice. If you want to see what this picture came from then check this out…

floating iceberg
floating iceberg

Once again I am trying to use these pictures to cool down. It is not really all that hot, we have the windows open and there is a nice breeze. But forgive me for whining for a moment…you see, I am of an age where power surges/hot flashes/inner thermostat malfunctions happen with alarming frequency. Sometimes I can grit my teeth and bear it. But when they happen just as I am getting all my welding gear on (long pants, long shirt, gloves, ear plugs, mask, hat and welding helmet) it is just plain brutal. I am not fond of intense heat as it is so needless to say I kind of wimp out on days like this and find other things to do. Okay, whining is over…back to my regular scheduled perky self. (?)

However, I am happy to report that the kangaroo is coming along nicely. I have been finishing up sections that were a little bare of metal and adding the ears (again). I rally like the way she is looking, and I will be starting the joey some time this weekend. But maybe first thing in the morning when it’s cooler.

manga head and ears
manga head and ears

8 thoughts on “power surge

  1. I love the ‘bergs! And of course the roo is looking amazing…trust me i see them everday πŸ™‚ as for the surges…kill me now…i have had horrors with them for 18 months..tried everything..living on no sleep to the point of losing my tiny mind..so hot hubby could feel radiating heat..sweat pouring off me..my dr tried eveything and i finally went to a naturopath…thankfully! Best thing i ever did…just had my morning dose of her special mix..tastes like bin juice…don’t care…between that and some tablets she gave me i have my life back…try and see one..i swear by it πŸ™‚ hugs Bev xx

    1. I am glad that you found a magic potion…despite its taste. I forget that I have things I can do for it, but some of it is in hot tea form…wonder if I can make it cold tea instead…hmmmmm. Thanks for the compliment on the roo, I was hoping you agreed that she is really getting to be very roo-like.

      1. Very much she is! and yes make it into a cold tea maybe..i mean winter here i get rugged up head out and start sweating like a dog..had to go back and get some extra goodies..it worked..i find for some reason full moons it is worse..this last full moon ..urghhhhhhhh and people say catch up on sleep during the day..the sweats are 24/7 glad i got extra meds it has made a big difference πŸ™‚ look forward to seeing how you go with the joey πŸ™‚ awesome job so far πŸ™‚ hugs bev xx

  2. I love that ice abstract- what a great photograph!

    And it’s wonderful to see the progression of the Kangaroo! It’s always fascinating how much expression can be given through metal.

    1. I’m glad you like the ice abstract, it seems to strike a chord in people. And I am really enjoying the roo now, she doesn’t just look like a roo, she IS a roo…This is the part I love and why I keep doing animals.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

