mistake

This is a post about a mistake. An error. An oversight. Whatever the video version of a typo is. (Is there a term for that?)

Actually, it is a post about my response to a mistake. To be sure, it’s one of many that I have made throughout my life. But most of the time my mistakes are private, not open for the viewing public to see.

You see, I am a perfectionist. I freely admit it. Despite my sister’s warning that “perfection is great but we can’t afford it”, I strive for perfection. I’m still not sure what the definition of perfection is but I am uncomfortable with anything less than that. That makes small imperfections HUGE in my eyes. Even if no one else notices, I notice. And I have to find a way to live with that.

I’m getting better as I get older. Most of the time.

Someone recently told me that the difference between an amateur and a professional is that the amateur points out all their mistakes and flaws and the professional keeps mum. They are like the cat who doesn’t quite make it up to the counter and upon landing unceremoniously on the floor, gets up, shakes its head and says “I meant to do that”.

Did you ever play an instrument in a recital with everyone watching? I did. I played the piano in several recitals. I sucked. And everyone knew it because I would pause after a mistake, slow down at the parts I wasn’t confident at and generally looked miserable. I was told more than once by my musician father, “Just play through a mistake and no one will notice.” Yeah, right.

So, not to belabor the point, but I will let you know that there is an error in the video. A small one to be sure. But it is still there. And it pains me. Big time. In the gut. Because I can’t do anything about it. It would be difficult to go back and fix it at this point. And it is my fault that it is there. I didn’t have a copy editor watch it beforehand to pick up on it. So I must live with it. But I will soldier on and pretend that I meant to say it. And if anyone brings it up, I will say “Oh, did I say that? No no no, I actually have been welding since 2003 not 2013.” And smile a little, give a chuckle and comment how crazy would it be if I had only been welding for two years and could produce such a masterpiece as a life-sized kangaroo. I’m good, but not that good.

All of this aside, I really love this video. I think it shows the process of my work really well which was the goal. Ken is such  an amazing guy and I very much enjoyed working with him. So if you haven’t seen it yet, take some time to sit and enjoy it!

7 thoughts on “mistake

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

