experimentation

I have been told by my doctor to baby my wrist, it seems I have developed a sprain of sorts. An X-ray ruled out a break but I nearly fell off the examining table in pain when she had me try to push against her hand. So, five pound hammer and steel garlic are put on hold while I let the wrist heal a little bit.

I admit I am a bit whiny but the good news is that there is so much to do in the studio that does not require heavy lifting or bashing metal. Yup, you guessed it, it’s experimenting time! I am currently working with steel dust/rust and fabric. It has come to my attention that the amount of moisture and the length of drying time really changes the outcome of the staining process on paper so I have been working with those factors with the fabric as well. The nice thing about the fabric is that it is not as fragile as the paper. I can scrunch it up, crease it, poke holes in it, sew things onto it…the list is endless. It is also more durable for displaying. I just have to figure out how to do that…but that will come with time.

I, needless to say, am having a blast.

IMG_1996.jpg

In other news, I had a commission for one of my rust paintings recently. A customer wanted a triptych for her long dining room wall. She liked the triptych in the studio but it was too big and the interesting stuff would be hidden by her dining room chairs. I said I could make a smaller “upside-down” version and that I would install it for her.

I generally dislike commissions, I feel a lot of pressure to get it just right which then makes the whole process less enjoyable. It took me a couple of tries (and this is where I learned about the time/moisture quotient to the staining process) but I ended up creating a really nice triptych. I have installed it in the customer’s house and I am happy to report that she is THRILLED. It wasn’t such a bad gig, she fed me chicken soup and chocolate cake…I think I made out on the deal. Maybe this commission thing ain’t so bad after all! (hint hint…)

driptrip.jpg

P1110959.jpg
in situ in the dining room

News from around the house:

Because of the recent house painting we had done, the curtains were down in the guest room. Otherwise I might not have seen this guy eating the holly berries…

P1120015.jpg

P1120016.jpg

Have a great weekend everyone!

8 thoughts on “experimentation

  1. With your creative spirit… I predict you will mend quickly!

    About those holly berries, I learned in a workshop recently, that holly berries cumulatively can have a toxic effect on songbirds… Sometimes leading to death from over indulging. I hope that’s not true for squirrels.

    1. Hmmm, I will have to look into that. I do know that squirrels wait until after it gets super cold, evidently the berries are much sweeter after they have been frozen.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

