what’s new?

I did not mean to take so long with the last three posts but here we are with a new blank piece of blog paper and much to write about…are you ready???

EXPERIMENTS

In the past weeks I have been experimenting with rust and fabric, with mixed results. I was not really pleased with what came out of it so I scrapped the experiment (pun intended) and went back to working on what I thought was going to be a garlic bulb.

FINISHED SCULPTURE

Sometimes I am not really sure who’s in charge of the story in the studio. I fought valiantly for three days to finish the sculpture as a garlic and for three days I failed. So I decided to give up and go with the flow. The finished product is, indeed, a bulb but I am not specifying which one. Some people see garlic, some people see amaryllis, some people see…well…what do you see?

Of course this was only part of the story. I took advantage of both the great weather and the presence of my intern Julia (not to mention the incredible opinions of some four legged animals) to install the new sculpture where it belonged…over the well head in my front yard. There could be an entire debate over whether art becomes craft when it turns into something functional. We’ll leave that for another day. Instead, I’ll just say I much prefer looking at the bulb than an ugly well head.

INTERN

Having an intern has been a wonderful thing. My studio has never been cleaner, I have lots of pieces of finished steel to work with as I make the next sculpture and…what’s that you say? You want to know what I’m working on?

Yeah, I’m not telling.

As I was saying, Julia is great. She finds work to do when I don’t have a specific project, she helps out even when I don’t know I need it, and she is super willing to do just about anything. I am getting a lot more work done and the studio is consistently clean. Plus, she arrives on time and is excited to be here. What more could anyone ask?

SPRING/SUMMER OPEN STUDIO

I have set the next open studio here at the farm. It will take place on May 21 and 22 (Saturday and Sunday) from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. it is yet another chance to come see the sculptures, but this time they will be surrounded by the gardens in their full splendor (hopefully). You can even bring a picnic and sit near a giraffe or musk ox to eat it. It is free and it will happen rain or shine. The studio is handicapped accessible, but if you are unable or unwilling to walk down (and back up) the hill, we are happy to drive you around in a golf cart and give you a guided tour.

If you are in the area but can’t make it to the open studio, I am offering guided studio visits by appointment. Visiting information is on my website. The kangaroo is waiting to see you!

P1110718

4 thoughts on “what’s new?

  1. I too see a flower just prior to opening. It reminds me a sunrise in that it’s the beginning of beautiful that should be cherished. Another day, another blossom.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

